OMG

Give me an O! Give me an M! Give me a G!

What have you got?

An Overwhelming realization. A big fat “OK!” even.

That it’s not Me!

And finally, I Get it!

About this time last year, I started on a journey of self discovery to try to figure out what the heck is my purpose on this earth?! What is my unique purpose? After this many years of existence, you’d think I would have a solid grasp on my own reason for being.

Because if not, it’s sort of embarrassing, isn’t it? Not to mention that God’s patience with me may be wearing thin… Indeed, what the heck have I been doing all this time?

On this Valentine’s Birthday (what I’ve always considered to be MY day), despite the fact that popular culture designates it a day for all lovers or conversely, “Singles Awareness Day”, the truly personal, most unique meaning of this, MY day has finally dawned on me.

Just because I don’t have the kind of love I think I want, the close presence and romance of a best friendship, it doesn’t mean I can’t give love.

What the hell have I been thinking?!

Could I have been any more dense all these years? I was given the gift of life on the day of love! Why has it taken a lifetime to realize that my natural-born purpose is to give, spread, share, be love?

Though it may be a “high (difficult) calling” for me, henceforth, I vow not to expect, require, hope that you will remember my birthday or that Valentine’s day is actually MY day. Because it’s not anymore.

Today, I start off toward next Valentine’s Day, planning, practicing, and exhibiting the many manifestations of love that it is my unique Purpose to give.

So look out, people. My purpose is also wrapped in creativity. That part, I got a long time ago. 😉

 

    • Betty
    • February 21st, 2016

    Enjoy your writings!…..Belated Happy Birthday!

    • Paula Robertson
    • February 20th, 2016

    As if it’s not hard enough already–that is, contrary to my nature, one of my VIP readers responded to this post as follows: “It was Valentines Day long before it was your birthday.”
    Well, damn. I am trying to take the high road here, but what do I do with a dagger like that?
    Sign me, Wilted

    • Kay Walker
    • February 16th, 2016

    That is a very noble goal – to give love. And I hope that you will find that special person who shares your mission.

    I didn’t know when your birthday was, but it will be hard to forget now. That was my dear departed mother-in-law’s own day as well. Good luck with your self-proclaimed calling.

      • Paula Robertson
      • February 17th, 2016

      Hello, Kay! Thanks for your support and thanks for “reading” me.
      LOVE ya!

    • Laura Ruggeri
    • February 14th, 2016

    Happy birthday, Paula!
    Go forth and spread the love! There is no greater mission in life, in my humble opinion!

      • Paula Robertson
      • February 14th, 2016

      Thanks, Laura. LOVE ya!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

