I’m Back

And you know what that means.

I can once more characterize myself as “UE” or Unemployed. As an independent, who has only been offered (and accepted) contract positions for the past seven years, I’m not sure I can legitimately characterize myself as unemployed, laid off, let go. Regardless, I’m pretty sure that I still haven’t learned how to make it seem otherwise.

Let’s back up. I am more than grateful that my most recent contract dovetailed so perfectly into the one before that. I never took for granted the fact that I managed to parlay one, then two contract gigs straight into a third. The result is that I was serially employed for 28 months!

… without any substantive time off. Sorry, in all honesty, I just had to throw that in there… the fact that the time/money tradeoff always taints the unemployment angst.

But back to being “back.” Because this development is so fresh, I propose to take you with me on this latest adventure in real time. It’s only been since Thursday, December 5, and I have many curiosities to share already.

Let me get back to you on that…

    • Kay Walker
    • December 10th, 2013

    So sorry to hear that you are again UE. We had layoffs here last month, and I was asked (again) if I am ready to retire. I declined (and thankfully was not involuntarily selected) to accept a retirement offer at this time. I probably will not be so fortunate the next time they need to “realign resources.”

    Hope you can at least enjoy the holidays before you have to think about locating another contract.

    Kay

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

