Happy Birthday Blog!

January 30 marked the one year anniversary of my first post and the launch of my blog, Footnotes.

February 6 last year, I published my second post and sent out an email announcement to everybody I thought might be receptive to it or at least not too annoyed by it. And on February 7, 103 people viewed my blog!

There was nothing special about the 2/7 post. It wasn’t memorable in terms of literary genius. It was the second in the series of finding my way in this medium, finding a voice for my blog, figuring out the answer to “OK, you put yourself out there. What are you going to do now?”

I’m sure those 103 people viewed my blog purely out of curiosity. But then, when they decided to make the click that logged a view in my site stats, they didn’t know but what I might just have something important to say, did they? Something amusing. Something poignant even. Something worth the short time it would take them to read it.

Unfortunately, no one day since has come close to matching that number of views. Does that mean I don’t have anything to say that’s important, amusing, poignant, or worth reading? Did I manage to disappoint 103 people by the same thing all in the same day?!

With 40-something people who subscribed, follow, or set up an RSS feed to be notified of my new posts, rarely does a single day see even that many views when I publish one. And when I say “rarely,” I mean never.

Have I failed even those who voluntarily signed up to be annoyed by notifications of my posts? Have I turned them off by allowing my eccentricities to show in my stories? Possibly. Are my musings too strange in their honesty or lack of it? Likely. Do people just not get my sense of humor? Well…

Nah… Not possible. None of the above!

Have I fallen down on posting regularly? OK, yeah. I could blame it on the inconvenience of being employed now, but that’s not an excuse even I would buy. If my blog postings have flaked out, just think how far behind I am on writing that book, which was the reason for the blog’s existence in the first place. I no sooner finally managed to leave the awful year of 2008 behind in my narrative when the calendar changed to 2012 and pushed me back another year. If I can’t manage to catch up to at least my most recent period of unemployment, the book will have no end! I need to finish this story before I have to experience another opportunity to keep writing it.

But I digress. This is about my blog’s birthday. The book might never live to see one.

May I ponder some more stats with you? Total views in 2011 were 2,550. Total views to date: 2,712. That kinda sounds like a lot. But not when you compare it to blog stats in the hundreds of thousands. I have a long way to go to command that much traffic.

So far, the single post that has received the most views (98) is Speaking of Boxes posted 3/9/11. Not sure what it was about that one that made it so popular. But again, people have no way to know whether they’ll like what they read until they read it.

With only 40-something people set up to receive notices, it’s obvious that at least one of them told someone else about that post or sent someone the link to it. Hey, why not? It’s free! You, too, can annoy your friends by sending them spam about my blog! (I find it amazing what junk people will forward in email, but it doesn’t occur to them to even read my blog, much less share it.)

Hm, that gives me an idea. Every time I receive spam, I’m going to reply with a link to my blog. No, wait! The link to my blog is in every email message I send because it’s in my signature. It hints in blue, Click this! I dare ya.

Otherwise, I guess I’m gonna have to rely on the Internet for the world to find my blog. So far, my ironic post How to Fix a Stuck Zipper has been the most popular with search engines. I hope that the unwitting readers who find that post are too amused by what they read to be annoyed that it wasn’t the answer they hoped to find.

So will I get only an echo in return if I ask for your advice? What do you think I should do to get more traffic? OK, besides posting more often, using better keywords, and appearing on Oprah?

Can we get a dialog going here?

    • Gail
    • February 7th, 2012

    change your name to Kardashian

    just kidding Paula. why did I read this entry today? well it said Happy Birthday and I know your birthday’s coming up so I really thought it was about your birthday! Also, I have a task to do today and I’m trying to find a way to put it off so reading your blog is helping me do that.

    Speaking of Kardashian, do you know that Khloe (wife of Lamar Odom, new Mavs basketball player), now has her OWN radio show on 102.9, from 12-1 pm, where her guests are usually people with the last name of (or associated with) Kardashian. The only reason I know this is that I listen to that radio station and have heard the promos. Of course, I don’t listen to it anymore between 12 noon and 1 pm. She seems like a nice person but I don’t know what she’ll do when she runs out of family members to put on the show.

    Maybe you can get a blog post out of THAT!

      • Paula Robertson
      • February 7th, 2012

      Gail, have I ever told you that you’re crazy? 😉 I have some strange ideas, but I would have never thought of that one!

    • Techquestioner
    • February 7th, 2012

    Congratulations, Paula. You made it through a full year of blogging, despite everything that happened this year. Hang in there. I wish you all the best in your blog, your job, and your life. I’m still here, your blog is still in my RSS reader, which I read intermittently, and I plan to keep following you.

      • Paula Robertson
      • February 7th, 2012

      Thanks, Margaret!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

